CHINA Town Hall

The BXSCC is the Baltimore and Maryland host for this annual event organized by the National Committee on U.S.-China Relations (NCUSCR). The NCUSCR recruits a high-level speaker or panel on U.S.-China topics and the local host provides the venue and webcasting support as well as a distinguished local speaker/moderator to conduct follow-up discussions with the local audience. Past speakers are listed below:

Year National Speakers / PanelistsBaltimore Local Speakers / Moderators
2019Stephen Orlins 欧伦斯,
President of the NCUSCR

Melanie Hart 梅拉尼· 哈特,
Senior Fellow and Director for China Policy at the Center for American Progress

Yasheng Huang 黄亚生,
International Management Professor at the MIT Sloan School of Management

Ely Ratner 拉特纳,
Executive Vice President and Director of Studies at the Center for a New American Security


George Stephanopoulos 乔治·斯蒂芬诺伯罗斯, ABC News Chief Anchor
Nat Ahrens 安奈德,
Executive Director and Founder of the American Mandarin Society
2018Condoleezza Rice 康多莉扎·赖斯,
Secretary of State (2005-2009) and National Security Advisor (2001-2005)
Madelyn Ross 饶玫,
Executive Director of SAIS China at the Johns Hopkins University (2015 – present)
2017Susan E. Rice 苏珊·赖斯,
National Security Advisor (2013 – 2017) and U.S. Permanent Representative to the United Nations (2009 – 2013)
John C. Wobensmith 约翰·沃本史密斯,
Secretary of State of Maryland (2015 – present)
2016Henry A. Kissinger 亨利·基辛格,
Secretary of State (1973 – 1977) and National Security Advisor (1969 – 1975)
David M. Lampton 兰普顿,
Director, China Studies Program, the Johns Hopkins Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (1997 – present) and President of the National Committee on U.S.-China Relations (1988 – 1997)
2015Robert E. Rubin 罗伯特·鲁宾,
Chairman of the Council on Foreign Relations

Sheldon Day 谢尔顿·戴伊,
Mayor of Huntsville, AL

Daniel Rosen 荣大聂,
Founding Partner, Rhodium Group
Robert Daly 戴博,
Director of the Kissinger Institute on China and the United States at the Wilson Center
2014Jimmy Carter 吉米·卡特,
President of the United States (1977 – 1981)
Frank Jannuzi 季浩丰,
President & CEO, The Maureen and Mike Mansfield Foundation
2013Madeleine Albright 马德琳·奥尔布赖特,
U.S. Secretary of State (1997 – 2001), and Chair of the Albright Stonebridge Group
Zha Liyou 查立友,
Counsellor, Congressional & Sub-National Affairs, Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the United States
2012Gary Locke 骆家辉,
U.S. Amabassador to the People’s Republic of China (2011 – 2014)
(The 2012 local event cancelled due to Superstorm Sandy. The featured speaker was to be Mr. Zha Liyou.)
2011Zbigniew Brzezinski 兹比格涅夫·布热津斯基,
National Security Advisor (1977 – 1981)
Robert Goldberg 金瑞柏,
Deputy Chief of Mission at the U.S. Embassy in Beijing (2009 – 2011) and U.S. Consul General in Guangzhou, China (2006 – 2009)